A White Stone with a New Name

Some years ago I had the privilege of conducting the wedding of two lovely young people and my wife and I were invited to the wedding banquet. This was held out in the country in a stable block that had been converted into a venue for holding large events.

We searched for our names on the seating plan and then sought out our places – how would I know which seat was mine? There, on the table, lay a stone with my name on it – I had been given a place at the table for the wedding banquet and this was proof that I had the right to be present.

The ever-living Christ, who walks among the lamps of the churches, writes to the church in Thyatira:

Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To the one who is victorious, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give that person a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to the one who receives it. (Revelation 2:17)

IMG_1395Every time I read this passage I think of my stone, with my name on it. Stones were sometimes used as invitations, and white stones to indicate a verdict of acquittal. To his faithful people, the ‘overcomers,’ Christ, the bridegroom, gives a place at the table to celebrate his marriage supper. The white stone, assuring of God’s verdict of being ‘righteous,’ is my invitation because it has my new name on it.

About Jared Hay

I'm minister of Priestfield Church in Edinburgh (Church of Scotland), husband of Jane, father of two adult children and am interested in sharing ideas and information through this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Contribute to the conversation

